The Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame was created to recognize Kentucky writers whose work reflects the character and culture of our commonwealth, and to educate Kentuckians about our state’s rich literary heritage. For a writer to have been eligible this year, he/she must be 1) published; 2) someone whose writing is of enduring stature; and 3) someone connected in a significant way to the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

Special thanks to the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame Official Sponsor: Central Bank. Support also provided by LexArts, Kentucky Arts Council, and Kentucky Educational Television.


2020 Inductees

Undated portrait. Photo courtesy of Yale University.
Cleanth Brooks
Lucy Furman visiting the University of Kentucky in 1937. Photo courtesy of UK Special Collections.
Lucy Furman
Undated portrait. Photo courtesy of Ohio University Archives.
Hollis Summers
Sam Shepard in Steel Magnolias, 1989. Photo by Rastar Films.
Sam Shepard
Sena Jeter Naslund at her home on Louisville’s St. James Court, 2019. Photo by Tom Eblen.
Sena Jeter Naslund

2019 Inductees

Ed McClanahan
Gurney Norman
Alice Dunnigan
Jane Gentry
Sue Grafton
Helen Thomas

2018 Inductees

Annie Fellows Johnston
bell hooks
John Fox, Jr.
Walter Tevis

2017 Inductees

Irvin S. Cobb
Joseph Seamon Cotter, Sr.
A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
Gayl Jones
Barbara Kingsolver

2016 Inductees

Bobbie Ann Mason
Harlan Hubbard
James Lane Allen
Alice Hegan Rice
Jean Ritchie

2015 Inductees

Wendell Berry
Guy Davenport
Elizabeth Hardwick
Jim Wayne Miller
Effie Waller Smith
Hunter S. Thompson

2014 Inductees

Rebecca Caudill
Thomas D. Clark
Janice Holt Giles
James Baker Hall
Etheridge Knight
Thomas Merton
Jesse Stuart

2013 Inductees

Harriette Arnow
William Wells Brown
Harry Caudill
Elizabeth Maddox Roberts
James Still
Robert Penn Warren

We hope to see you soon at the Carnegie Center, home to the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame and writers and readers of all levels.

Join Us

251 West Second Street
Lexington, KY 40507


(859) 254-4175

The building is currently closed to the public until further notice.

Monday – Thursday: 10:00am – 7:30pm
Friday: 10:00am – 5:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am – 2:00pm
Sunday: CLOSED

  • homegrown-authors
  • color-purple