2019 Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

  • Venue:
    Kentucky Theatre
  • Time:
    7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
  • Meets On:
        Wednesday, January 30
  • Address:
    214 E. Main Street
    Lexington, KY, 40507
  • Cost:

Join us on Wednesday, January 30, 2019 for the 2019 Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at Lexington’s historic Kentucky Theatre, featuring living 2019 Hall of Fame inductees Gurney Norman and Ed McClanahan.

The Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame was created to recognize Kentucky writers whose work reflects the character and culture of our commonwealth, and to educate Kentuckians about our state’s rich literary heritage. For a writer to have been eligible this year, he/she must be 1) published; 2) someone whose writing is of enduring stature; and 3) someone connected in a significant way to the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

Special thanks to the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame Official Sponsor: Central Bank. Support also provided by LexArts, Kentucky Arts Council, and Kentucky Educational Television.

2019 Inductees
Ed McClanahan
Gurney Norman
Alice Dunnigan
Sue Grafton
Helen Thomas
Jane Vance

2018 Inductees
Annie Fellows Johnston
bell hooks
John Fox, Jr.
Walter Tevis

2017 Inductees
Irvin S. Cobb
Joseph Seamon Cotter, Sr.
A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
Gayl Jones
Barbara Kingsolver

2016 Inductees
Bobbie Ann Mason
James Lane Allen
Harlan Hubbard
Alice Hegan Rice
Jean Ritchie

2015 Inductees
Wendell Berry
Guy Davenport
Elizabeth Hardwick
Jim Wayne Miller
Effie Waller Smith
Hunter S. Thompson

2014 Inductees
Rebecca Caudill
Thomas D. Clark
Janice Holt Giles
James Baker Hall
Etheridge Knight
Thomas Merton
Jesse Stuart

2013 Inductees
Harriette Arnow
William Wells Brown
Harry Caudill
Elizabeth Maddox Roberts
James Still
Robert Penn Warren