Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame 2017

  • Meets On:
        Wednesday, February 1

The Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame was created to recognize Kentucky writers whose work reflects the character and culture of our commonwealth, and to educate Kentuckians about our state’s rich literary heritage. For a writer to have been eligible this year, he/she must be 1) published; 2) someone whose writing is of enduring stature; and 3) someone connected in a significant way to the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

2017 Induction Ceremony

Join us as we induct five writers into the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame at the Induction Ceremony on Thursday, February 2, 2017 at 7:00 pm. Doors will open at 6:30 pm. Light refreshments, wine and sweets will be provided.

2017 Inductees
Irvin S. Cobb
Joseph Seamon Cotter, Sr.
A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
Gayl Jones
Barbara Kingsolver

2016 Inductees
Bobbie Ann Mason
James Lane Allen
Harlan Hubbard
Alice Hegan Rice
Jean Ritchie

2015 Inductees
Wendell Berry
Guy Davenport
Elizabeth Hardwick
Jim Wayne Miller
Effie Waller Smith
Hunter S. Thompson

2014 Inductees
Rebecca Caudill
Thomas D. Clark
Janice Holt Giles
James Baker Hall
Etheridge Knight
Thomas Merton
Jesse Stuart

2013 Inductees
Harriette Arnow
William Wells Brown
Harry Caudill
Elizabeth Maddox Roberts
James Still
Robert Penn Warren