KY Writers Hall of Fame

  • Addl Info:


  • Meets On:
        Thursday, January 28

The Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame was created to recognize Kentucky writers whose work reflects the character and culture of our commonwealth, and to educate Kentuckians about our state’s rich literary heritage. For a writer to have been eligible this year, he/she must be 1) deceased (excluding one living writer); 2) published; 3) someone whose writing is of enduring stature; and 4) someone connected in a significant way to the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

The 2016 winners (listed below alphabetically) will be publicly announced and honored at the Induction Ceremony slated for Thursday, January 28, 7:00 PM. Light refreshments, wine and sweets will be provided. We will also have a special musical performance from Ritchie’s Nieces; a group comprised of 2016 inductee Jean Ritchie’s actual nieces.

2016 Inductees

Bobbie Ann Mason

James Lane Allen

Harlan Hubbard

Alice Hegan Rice

Jean Ritchie

2015 Inductees

Wendell Berry

Guy Davenport

Elizabeth Hardwick

Jim Wayne Miller

Effie Waller Smith

Hunter S. Thompson

2014 Inductees

Rebecca Caudill

Thomas D. Clark

Janice Holt Giles

James Baker Hall

Etheridge Knight

Thomas Merton

Jesse Stuart


2013 Inductees

Harriette Arnow

William Wells Brown

Harry Caudill

Elizabeth Maddox Roberts

James Still

Robert Penn Warren