From the Executive Director

Dear Carnegie friends:

Twenty-two years ago, the Carnegie Center opened its doors with the goal of Neil_website_picinspiring children and adults through reading, writing and the literary arts. This past summer, the Center reached a milestone when Gov. Steve Beshear awarded us Kentucky’s highest honor in the arts.

In July, the Carnegie Center was named the 2014 recipient of the Governor’s Award in the Arts for “substantial and extraordinary contributions” to arts education in the state. The governor was referring to the kind of programs that you will find in the pages that follow. For adults, we offer everything from Memoir to Horror Writing, Photoshop to French. For children, you’ll find book clubs for babies, Spanish for grade-schoolers, college prep classes for teens.

And it’s all affordable. Thanks to our donors, most of our classes are free or available for a moderate fee. And we offer discounts and scholarships for those with especially tight budgets. A low-income family in our after-school tutoring program, for example, pays just $5 for a whole year of tutoring for their child. The Governor’s Award in the Arts puts the Carnegie Center in elite company among nonprofits. But literacy itself isn’t just for the elite. Reaching one’s intellectual and creative potential is for every one of us.

Neil Chethik
Executive Director